Welcome K-12 teachers and all to the Fulbright-Hays Partners in Education website. We hope our units and lessons, as well as our cumulative experiences here in Mexico, help you capture the attention and imagination of your students, and perhaps even save you some time.

amatlanfestival.jpg
Festival in Amatlan
panzocalo.jpg
The Zocalo, Mexico City

Click Here to visit our 2010 Mexico Blog Cuernavaca 2010 Blog

Units and Lessons: currently posted

Do Big Fences Make Good Neighbors? Immigration, Statistics, Math, and Geography, Renee Warfield, Talbot County

Getting to Know Mexico One Journal Entry at a Time, Spanish, gym, social studies, Immigration- Brian Phillips,
Worcester County, High School Spanish Level 1, bcphillips@mail.worcester.k12.md.us

Incorporating Mexican Culture into Spanish 1 curriculum -Megan Sands, Montgomery County, Middle School Spanish, Megan_Sands@mcpsmd.org

Mexico- Our Global Neighbor Paul Holland, Baltimore City, ESOL K-8, kholland@bcps.k12.md.us

Traditional Mexican Gender Roles, Leslie Miller, Montgomery County, Middle School Spanish, Leslie_A_Miller@mcpsmd.org

Building Background Knowledge of Mexican Culture and History Through Music, Art, Murals, History and Literature ,

Andrea Naft, Baltimore County, Elementary Reading Specialist, including lessons on Diego Rivera, the Revolution, Author's and Artist Viewpoint, and curriculum to be used with the 5th grade Houghtom Mifflin story Elena by Diane Stanely, anaft@bcps.org

Building Background Knowledge for "Tomas and the Library Lady"- Houghton Mifflin 4th grade reading lesson, anaft@bcps.org

Introducing Latin American Foods and Countries, Andrea Naft, Baltimore County, Reading Specialist, anaft@bcps.org

Unit on Immigration and GeneologySean Haardt, Frederick County Middle and High School Social Studies, seanhaardt@fcps.org

The Dichotomy of Resistance and Accommodations – The Mexican Conquest, Regina O’Neal , Baltimore
City, High School Spanish, regina.oneal@gmail.com


Units and Lessons: Under construction

Integrating and Diversifying the 5th Grade Curriculum: Math, Science, Health, Reading, Writing,
Music, and Art, Lauren Catts, Baltimore County, 5th grade, lcatts@bcps.org

High School Spanish, lunalavanda@yahoo.com

Do Fences Make Good Neighbors? Pre-Columbian Civilizations, History, Civil Rights, Immigration, Economics,
Geography, Conquest of Mexico, Dadre Blake, Anne ArundelCounty, 5th grade, dblake@aacps.org

Mexican Public Art, Caitlin Grove,Baltimore County, Elementary Art, cgrove@bcps.org

Mexican Government, History, and Politics, Chris Datz, Baltimore City, 7 th grade social studies, chrisdatz22@gmail.com


History of Mexico: Civilization, and Music, Jonathon Dworin, Montgomery County, High SchoolSpanish and ESOL
jonathan_m_dworin@macpsmd.org

Unit on Immigration and Geneology Sean Haardt, Frederick County Middle and High School Social Studies, seanhaardt@fcps.org

The Spanish Speaking World and Culture, Geography, Government and Immigration, Normandi Pitts, Baltimore City,
High School Spanish, NAPitts@bcps.K12.md.us

Immigration, Culture, Math Geography, and Economics, Beth Milstead, Baltimore County, Middle School Spanish,
eluginbill@bcps.org

Immigration and Family, Pre-Columbian Civilizations in Mexico, Michelle Wolff, Carroll County, Middle School Spanish level 1,
MMWOLFF@carrollk12.org